Guwahati, Saturday, December 18, 2010

Hema Bharali to be felicitated at AICC session
Spl Correspondent
 NEW DELHI, Dec 17 – Distinguished freedom fighter Hema Bharali is among a host of veteran leaders to be honoured at the two-day AICC plenary session that gets under way on Sunday.

 Over 400 Congressmen from Assam have started arriving in the Capital to take part in the two-day plenary meet being held at Burari near here. The delegation includes 42 AICC members, besides PCC members.

According to AICC secretary Dwijen Sarma, Hema Bharali is among a host of freedom fighters to be honoured at the meet. One freedom fighter from each of the States is proposed to be honoured, he added.

Recipient of National Communal Harmony Award 2005, Hema Bharali is an octogenarian Gandhian, freedom fighter and a front ranking leader of Vinoba Bhave’s Bhoodan Movement.

Bharali has been associated with non-political organisations that fought for the cause of social uplift of people at large. She has been engaged in rural development, spread of basic education, prohibition, strengthening of national integration and removal of social discrimination.

She participated in relief operations during the devastating earthquake in North Lakhimpur in 1950. She helped the panic stricken people of Tezpur and adjoining areas of Assam-Arunachal Pradesh border during the Chinese aggression in 1962.

Meanwhile, the plenary session that would endorse Sonia Gandhi’s election to the post of president is likely to be crucial for election going States, including Assam. Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and Bhubaneswar Kalita are already in the capital to attend the AICC meet.

Kalita told this newspaper that there may be a strategy session for States facing elections during the two-day meet. The list of PCC officer-bearers are, however, unlikely to be released during the AICC plenary session.

The subject committee of AICC is scheduled to meet here on Saturday morning to finalise the agenda for meet and draft economic and political resolutions. All CLP leaders, Congress Chief Ministers, PCC presidents and Congress Working Committee (CWC) members are slated to take part in the meeting.