Guwahati, Saturday, September 19, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Nasir helps Bangladesh A level series

 BENGALURU, Sep 18 (PTI) All-rounder Nasir Hossain cracked an unbeaten ton and picked up a five-wicket haul to ensure a comfortable 65-run victory for Bangladesh A as the visitors levelled the three-match unofficial ODI series against India A at 1-1 here today.

The Mominul Haque-led side picked up the pieces from its opening loss against the hosts to return with a complete performance at the M Chinnaswamy stadium.

After posting 252 for eight while batting first, Bangladesh A shot India A out for 187 in 42.2 overs.

Put into bat, the visitors lost early wickets, but Hossain's 96-ball 102 not out helped the side reach a respectable score in 50 overs. The 70-run sixth-wicket partnership between Nasir and Liton Das (45) turned things around for the visitors.

Soumya Sarkar (24), Anamul Haque (34) and Arafat Sunny (17) also contributed to the Bangladesh A score. Medium-pacer Rishi Dhawan bagged three wickets, while leg-spinner Karn Sharma had two scalps.

The Unmukt Chand-led side were never in the chase after the top-order batsmen not only failed to convert starts but surrendered to Nasir's off-spin and Rubel Hossian's medium pace (4-33).

Unmukt top-scored with 56 runs as Nasir (5-36) rattled the top-order with Litton gloving five catches behind the stumps.

Looking for some batting practice before the South Africa series, senior batsman Suresh Raina faltered for the second time around after being caught behind for 17 off Nasir -- the left-hander had managed 16 in the first game. The middle and lower-middle order could not cut much ice this time around as they fell like a pack of cards.

If Nasir troubled the batsmen then Rubel also never allowed them to breathe easy. India A also saw two ducks in Sanju Samson and Rishi Dhawan, both of whom were major contributors for the hosts in the opening win.

The third and final match will be played on September 20 at the same venue.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh A 252/8 in 50 overs (Nasir Hossain 101 not out, Liton Das 45; Rishi Dhawan 3-44, Karn Sharma 2-40)

India A 187 all out in 42.2 overs (Unmukt Chand 56, Manish Pandey 36; Nasir Hossain 5-36, Rubel Hossain 4-33).

Other Headlines