Guwahati, Sunday, September 15, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
14 HS, HSLC-passed students receive cash awards
 JORHAT, Sept 14 - The Golaghat zonal office of the Assistant PF Commissioner of Assam Tea Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation (ATEPFO) under the State Labour Welfare Department on Thursday gave away cash awards to 14 meritorious HSLC and HS-passed students of this year belonging to families who are members of the PF organisation and working in tea gardens.

Each student was given Rs 2,000, a certificate and a gamusa at a function held at the Conference Hall of the Golaghat Municipal Board.

It may be mentioned here that the prizes were distributed on the ocassion of the 65th foundation day of ATEPFO in memory of Loknayak Amiyo Kumar Das, a Gandhian, a social worker and a former Labour Minister of Assam, who was instrumental in establishing the organisation meant for providing social security to the tea estate workers and staff.

Mridul Hussain, Assistant PF Commissioner of ATEPFO, Golaghat, delivered the welcome address at the function which was attended by former minister and present Golaghat MLA Ajanta Neog, chairperson of Golaghat Municipal Board Juri Das Rajkhowa, Ghaneshyam Barhoi, president of ACMS Golaghat unit, Mukut Borthakur, secretary of ACKS Golaghat unit, among others.

The speakers at the function congratulated the students and exhorted them to perform better in the days ahead in their academic lives.

Gitartha Pathak, Assistant Fund Control Officer of ATEPFO zonal office of the Assistant PF Commissioner, Golaghat, subsequently offered the vote of thanks.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »