Guwahati, Saturday, September 14, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
UDP MLA Metbah Lyngdoh elected Meghalaya Speaker

Metbah Lyngdoh with Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma
 SHILLONG, Sept 13 - Three-time United Democratic Party (UDP) MLA Metbah Lyngdoh was elected as the Speaker of the 10th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly today.

The election was held through secret ballot in which he secured 39 votes while Congress candidate Winnerson Sangma got 19 votes. A total of 58 MLAs cast their votes in the House of 60. Lyngdoh succeeded Donkupar Roy, who passed away at a private hospital in Gurgaon on July 28.

Lyngdoh was nominated for the post as the consensus candidate of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA).

He held a ministerial berth in the MDA Government, holding Tourism, Excise and Water Resources portfolios before he resigned from the Cabinet on September 10 to contest the Speaker’s post.

In the last Assembly election, Lyngdoh was elected from Mairang constituency for the third consecutive term. He has also been elected as the party president of the UDP.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and Leader of the Opposition Mukul Sangma congratulated the new Speaker after he assumed the chair.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »