Guwahati, Friday, September 14, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Independents grab top posts in varsity election
STAFF Correspondent
 DIBRUGARH, Sept 13 - In an unprecedented turnaround, independent candidates defeated All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) backed candidates to grab most of the coveted posts in the Post Graduate Students’ Union of Dibrugarh University.

 The elections for various office bearers of the Post Graduate Students’ Union of Dibrugarh University were conducted from 8 AM to 2 PM at Bishnu Rabha Rangamoncha and the results were declared late evening yesterday.

In the past elections, All Assam Students’ Union, National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) backed candidates had tasted victory in major posts in different periods. Mridul Gogoi (Independent) defeated candidate Rajdeep Kalita to become the president of the union. Pallabjyoti Hazarika (Independent) defeated Ankit Gogoi of the AASU to win the Vice President post. Similarly Rahul Chetry (Independent) defeated candidate Deepjyoti Dutta to become the general secretary. Similarly, Surajit Buragohain lost the post of magazine secretary to Pranjal Baruah (Independent). The office of music secretary was won by contestant Antara Hazarika. Her nearest rival was Gitalin Dutta (Independent). D Aomi (Independent) defeated Jitu Dutta (AASU) to hold the post of cultural secretary.

The other winners mostly backed by AASU included A Chetia (assistant general secretary), Chandrapaul Saikia (debate secretary), Juman Kalita (general sports), Madhurjya Kalita (literacy & fine arts), Manashjyoti Chutia (indoor games), Ashim Baruah (cricket secretary), Rama Sasa (football), Saumarjyoti Gogoi (social service), Chintu Gogoi (gymnasium) and Janmoni Chutia (girls common room).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »