Guwahati, Saturday, September 13, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Bypoll in 3 State Assembly seats today

Polling Officials leaving for their respective polling stations in Jamunamukh on Friday
 GUWAHATI, Sept 12 – By elections to three Assam Assembly constituencies – Silchar, Lakhipur and Jamunamukh – will be held tomorrow to decide the political fate of 25 contestants, reports PTI.

 Polling will be held from 7 am to 5 pm in the three constituencies where 5,09,689 voters, including 2,44,543 women, are eligible to exercise their franchise in 588 polling stations, the Election Office said here. Silchar has the highest number of 12 candidates followed by Jamunamukh with eight and Lakhipur with five.

Arun Dutta Majumdar (Congress), Dilip Kumar Paul (BJP) and Nur Ahmed Barbhuyan (AIUDF) are among the prominent contestants in Silchar, while former MLA Dinesh Prasad Goala’s son Rajdeep Goala (Congress), Mukesh Pandey (AIUDF) and Sanjay Thakur (BJP) are notables in Lakhipur. Jamunamukh has AIUDF president Badruddin Ajmal’s son Abdur Rahim Ajmal, Bashir Uddin Laskar (Cong) and Bilal Uddin (BJP) in the fray among others.

The by election was necessitated following the election of Silchar MLA Sushmita Dev and Jamunamukh MLA Mohammad Sirajuddin Ajmal to the Lok Sabha. The death of sitting MLA Dinesh Prasad Goala necessitated bypoll in Lakhipur.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »