Guwahati, Thursday, September 11, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
8 candidates in the fray in Jamunamukh seat
Abu Hanifa
 NAGAON, Sept 10 – There are eight candidates in the fray in thse Jamunamukh LAC which goes to the polls on September 13. They are: Abdur Rahim Ajmal (AIUDF), Basir uddin Laskar (INC), Bilal Uddin ( BJP), Prafulla Saikia, Bodor Uddin, Maulana Mutahir Ali, Ranjit Devnath (all independents) and Sunaram Bora (SUCI).

Jamunamukh was a stronghold for the Indian National Congress since the very beginning. From 1951 to 1971, this LAC was represented by Congress candidates. They were Bimala Kanta Bora (1951, Rahimuddin Ahmed (1957), Begum Afia Ahmed (1962), LP Goswami (1967) and Devendra Nath Bora (1972). This easy walk of the Congress was first stopped in 1978 by Muzammil Ali Choudhury of the Janata Party.

Abdul Jalil Ragibi represented this constituency in 1985 and in 1991, first as an Independent candidate and then as a Congress candidate. Khalilur Rahman Choudhury was the only AGP MLA from this LAC in 1996. Since 2001, this seat has been retained by the Ajmal family namely Badaruddin Ajmal and Sirajuddin Ajmal.

Sirajuddin Ajmal was MLA from 2006 till this year. After being elected to Parliament from Barpeta LAC, Sirajuddin Ajmal vacated this seat and for this by poll, the AIUDF has fielded Abdur Rahim Ajmal.

This time the people have been complaining that MLAs from Ajmal family do not stay in Hojai and that is why they are not getting due support from the latter when they need. Later talking to this corresponent, MP Sirajuddin Ajmal, the former MLA of Jamunamukh, said that they are totally concerned for the development of the constituency and its people. He has implemented a number of schemes in all the sectors for the benefit of the poor people. He specially got sanctioned Rs 30 crore from the Centre for a scheme which was obstructed by the Congress party in power, and from that fund, ten thousand bighas of land were irrigated in his constituency. He worked for the construction of roads and bridges also, he added. Due to his own efforts, five schools of his constituency were elevated to Higher Secondary. The Ajmal group from its own funds established educational institutions in his LAC for the spread of quality education. He said that it is a totally false propaganda that he has not done anything for the people.

The candidate Abdur Rahim Ajmal is a graduate from Deoband, the famous seat of learning of Islamic philosophy and is a sports lover. He has promised the electorate to complete the half-done works of Sirajuddin Ajmal. He hoped that people will give him a chance to serve them. AIUDF chief Badaruddin Ajmal while talking to this correspondent expressed his confidence that his party will retain this seat.

The Congress is trying to regain this seat and on September 9, Chief Minister Tarun Gagai addressed an election rally near Murajhar. In his address, Gogoi appealed to the people to vote for Basiruddin Laskar for the sake of development. He was critical of both the AIUDF and BJP. Abdul Jalil Ragibi was in the chair. Minister Rockybul Hussain and some other MLAs were present along with the Chief Minister.

Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, MP Rajen Gohain and other leaders campaigned for the BJP candidate Hazi Bilal Uddin.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »