idstring=id=sep1019/state050 The Assam Tribune Online

Guwahati, Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
23 young Indian writers conferred Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar
Staff Correspondent

 DIBRUGARH, Sept 9 - The Sahitya Akademi conferred the Yuva Puraskar on 23 youths for their outstanding literary works in one of the 24 major Indian languages.

The Yuva Puraskar containing an engraved copper plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 was given away to each of the recipients during a small but glittering function at Lalchand Kanoi Memorial Auditorium of DHSK College here last evening.

The awards were presented to the recipients by Chandrashekar Kambar, president of Sahitya Akademi. As prelude all the awardees were garlanded and felicitated with Assamese traditional gamosas by Madhav Kaushik, vice president, Sahitya Akademi. Eminent English writer and author Professor Emeritus Amaresh Datta attended the function as the chief guest.

Dr Sanjib Pol Deka and Dr Rujab Muchahary were the two young writers from the State to receive the awards in Assamese and Bodo languages respectively. Dr Sanjib Pol Deka received the Yuva Puraskar for his short story collection Eipine Ki Aase?. Dr Deka is currently serving as Assistant Professor in the Department of Assamese, Dibrugarh University. Dr Deka has edited two magazines and his translated works are published in various journals and anthologies. He is also the recipient of Munin Barkataky Award and Yuva Puraskar by Bhartiya Bhasha Parishad.

Dr Rujab Muchahary was selected for the award for his poetry collection titled Sansri Arw Mwndangthini Mwkhang. Dr Muchahary is currently teaching at Rangia College in the Department of Bodo. He has three poetry collections – Mwnse Som Nenanwi, Ang Nagrina Mwnw Sukhuni Gezerwbw Mase Zibww and Sansri Arw Mwndangthini Mwkhang and one prose Baidi Bithing Baidi Saoraithai to his credit.

The recipients in other languages include Moumita Maiti (Bengali), Sunil Kumar (Dogri), Tanuj Solanki (English), Ajay Soni (Gujarati), Anuj Lugun (Hindi), Shridhar Banavasi GC (Kannada), Sagar Nazir (Kashmiri), Hemant Balkrishna Aiya (Konkani), Amit Kumar Pathak (Maithili), Anuja Akathoottu (Malayalam), Oinam Jiten Singh (Manipuri), Sushil Kumar Shinde (Marathi), Karna Bahadur Chetri (Nepali), Sisira Behera (Odia), Yodwinder Singh Sandhu (Punjabi), Keerti Parihar (Rajasthani), Yuvraj Bhattaarai (Sanskrit), Guhiram Kisku (Santali), Sabarinathan (Tamil), Gaddam Mohanrao (Telegu) and Salman Abdus Samad (Urdu).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »