Guwahati, Thursday, September 5, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
2 women among four contenders for Tripura by-poll

 AGARTALA, Sept 4 - Four candidates, including two women, have filed their nomination papers for the September 23 by-election to the Badharghat reserved Assembly constituency in west Tripura, an official said here today, which was the last date for filing nominations.

In a four-cornered electoral fight, the by-poll will be contested between the ruling BJP candidate Mimi Majumder, the Opposition Communist Party of India-Marxist-led Left Front nominee Bulti Biswas, Congress aspirant Ratan Chandra Das and SUCI (C) contestant Mridul Kanti Sarkar.

The returning officer of the Badharghat Assembly by-poll, Tarun Debbarma, said that the scrutiny of nominations would take place on Thursday and the last date of withdrawal of nominations is Saturday.

Around 58,400 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the by-poll on September 23. Counting will take place on September 27.

The by-election to the Badharghat seat, reserved for SC candidates, was necessitated following the death of sitting BJP legislator Dilip Sarkar. A former five-time Congress legislator, Sarkar, who joined the BJP in 2017 along with seven other Congress MLAs, died on April 1 after a prolonged illness. – IANS

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »