Guwahati, Sunday, October 30, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Names of Tulsi plantation contest winners declared
 DERGAON, Oct 29 - Mon Rajguru Pujari, Jyotiprova Saikia Das and Nayanmoni Bora of Majuli, Tinsukia and Golaghat districts respectively have been selected for the Governor’s awards for Tulsi plantation contest namely ‘Patanjali’, ‘Aryabhatta’ and ‘Sushruta’ which will be conferred by the Governor at a function to be held at the Rajbhavan at a later date.

They got the first three positions in the All Assam Tulsi Plantation Competition organised by nature organisation AASHRAY. The competition was organised by AASHRAY on October 17 on the occasion of Kati Bihu at the field level and the shortlisted participants appeared at a viva-voice. From 506 participants from different districts of the State, 81 were called for the viva-voice.

Securing the fourth position, Binanda Sarma Pujari of Majuli district got the Puwaram Saikia memorial award while Pranab Kr Borgohain of Dibrugarh district and Heramba Hazarika of Majuli district were awarded the Forest Officer Akan Ch Kalita memorial award. The other rank holders are: Ananta Madhav Phukan of Golaghat district (sixth), Babita Hazarika of Golaghat district (seventh), Minu Bora of Kamrup (M), Nibedita Hazarika of Golaghat district and Sabita Hazarika of Golaghat district (eighth), Arup Saikia of Dibrugarh district and Himashree Bania of Majuli district (ninth), Upasana Bora of Majuli district and Monoj Bora of Golaghat district (tenth), Jyotika Barua Hazarika of Jorhat district and Nabanita Changmai of Nagaon district (eleventh) and Mayuraj Bora of Nagaon district, Manash Pratim Barua and Jinu Barthakur of Golaghat district (twelfth). The representative of AASHRAY at Majuli was declared as the best organiser of the competition by AASHRAY.

In the competition, Charu Prasad Sarma, retired vice-principal of Bapuji College, Sarukhetri, Dr Bharati Dutta, Associate Professor of DHSK College, Dibrugarh, Dr Jogesh Bora, Associate Professor of DKD College, Dergaon, Chidananda Pathak, vice-principal of Dergaon Girls’ HS School and Jyoti Kumari Sarma Barthakur, Science teacher of Dergaon HS School took part as the judges. In the afternoon, the open meeting held with the president of AASHRAY, Biren Saikia in the chair was inaugurated by the former president of Dergaon Sahitya Sabha Atul Ch Mahanta.

In the meeting moderated by AASHRAY’s secretary Sanjoy Kr Hazarika, retired Professor of DHSK College, Dibrugarh Dr Bharati Dutta delivered a speech on ‘Rituals of Kati Bihu and its scientific analysis’ as the appointed speaker. Through her speech she highlighted the different aspects of Kati Bihu and their scientific significance. The meeting was also attended by retired professor of DU Dr Kamaleswar Neog, retired ADC Hariprasad Bordoloi and noted social worker Atul Goswami as the guests of honour. In the meeting the representatives of AASHRAY at different districts namely Manjula Bora (Tinsukia), Devjani Mahanta (Sivasagar), Pradip Saikia (Majuli), Prabin Sarma (Jorhat), Dharmeswar Hazarika (Jorhat), Bhanu Hazarika (Nagaon) and Rajashree Hazarika (Golaghat) were accorded warm felicitation.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »