Guwahati, Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
MNF announces candidates for Mizoram Assembly poll
 AIZAWL, Oct 22 - Mizo National Front (MNF), the main contender against the ruling Congress, today declared its candidates for the upcoming Mizoram Assembly polls for the all the 40 seats, except for Chawngte seat, which is a Chakma-dominated constituency in southern Mizoram.

 The largest opposition party fielded all its five sitting MLAs in their own constituencies and included 17 new faces.

MNF president Zoramthanga, who was defeated in the last two elections from what used to be MNF stronghold, will fight the elections from Aizawl East-I. Unlike other Chief Ministerial candidates, he will contest from only one seat.

MNF senior vice president Tawnluia will contest from Tuichang constituency, vice president and MLA Dr R Lalthangliana will contest from South Tuipui. MNF stalwart and vice president R Tlanghmingthanga will not contest the coming elections.

MNF veteran and former Minister K Sangthuama will contest from Aizawl West-I which he has been representing since 2013.

Former Lok Sabha member and sitting MLA Vanlalzawma will contest from Aizawl West-I the constituency that he represents since 2013.

MNF’s star campaigner and Aizawl Football Club owner Robert Romawia Royte will contest from Aizawl East-II against Finance Minister Lalsawta of Congress.

Declaring the name of the 39 candidates, MNF president Zoramthanga said, “These are the best candidates that we can offer to the people of Mizoram.”

Appealing all the people of Mizoram to vote for MNF candidates, Zoramthanga apologised for every mistake that his ten years’ government had committed during 1998 to 2008.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »