Guwahati, Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Voter turnout 77.5 % in Rangapara LAC

Voters stand in queues to cast their votes at a polling station at Namoni village in Rangapara LAC of Sonitpur district, on Monday. – UB Photos
 TEZPUR, Oct 21 - The voter turnout was 77.5 % till 5 pm in 74 Rangapara LAC bypolls.

The poll process started at 7 am and passed off peacefully. There were altogether five candidates in the fray with the BJP, Congress and CPI (M) putting up candidates besides two Independents.

After visiting many polling stations, BJP candidate Rajen Barthakur exuded confidence of his win.

The Congress candidate Kartik Kurmi alleged that the BJP failed to fulfil its commitment given to the public during the last Assembly Election (2016) and General Election (2019) and the people of the constituency would give a fitting reply to it by giving their mandate to the Congress.

Meanwhile, the Election cell of the district administration informed that as final reports from various polling stations are yet to come, the poll percentage may go up.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »