Guwahati, Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Left, TC declare bye-polls nominees
 AGARTALA, Oct 18 - The Left Front and Trinamool Congress declared party candidates for the upcoming by-elections to the Barjala and Khowai Assembly seats.

 The Left Front aspirants are: youth leader Jhumu Sarkar in Barjala and district party secretary Biswajit Datta in Khowai.

The Barjala Assembly seat fell vacant after the Congress MLA Jitendra Sarkar resigned on June 6 following internal feud, while the Khowai seat fell vacant after the death of veteran CPI-M legislator Samir Deb Sarkar.

Declaring the party candidates for the by-elections scheduled for November 19, Left Front chairman Khagan Das urged the voters to ensure the Left candidates emerge victorious.

In the last elections, the Left suffered a narrow defeat at the hand of Congress nominee Jitendra Sarkar.

“This time, we urge the voters to make Left victories with a massive margin, keeping in mind of our performance,” he said while speaking to media-persons at the party office here on Monday night.

“The Left Front will go to the by-election on the platform of development, peace and amity. We do solemnly request the opposition parties not to create any trouble during the elections,” he said.

On the other hand, seasoned politician Prakash Das and Manoj Das will contest in Barjala and Khowai Assembly constituencies on Trinamool Congress tickets.

Trinamool Congress president Surajit Dutta and MLA Sudip Roy Barman declared the party’s candidates at a press conference here.

The BJP and Congress are, however, yet to declare their contenders for the by-elections.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »