Guwahati, Monday, October 13, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Hatigarh Durga Puja bags Prakriti Award
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, Oct 12 – Hatigarh Zoo Narengi Path Sharbajanin Durga Puja Samity has been declared the winner of Prakriti Award 2014. With minimum electricity consumption, eco-friendly idols, and clean surroundings, the committee has bagged the 2014 award.

 The award was instituted by the Eco Tourism Society of North East in 2011. The main objective was to create awareness regarding eco-friendly Durga Puja celebration in Guwahati.

The committee had successfully presented eco-friendly Durga Puja by utilising clay, bamboo and thatched roof. The theme of the committee was rural Assam. Day-to-day activities like fishery culture, weaving of ethnic dresses, traditional method of agriculture and cattle farming was showcased during the four-day Durga Puja celebration. The main aim of the puja committee was to portray how Durga Puja was celebrated 100 years back when there was neither cement nor tin roof. So, the puja committee prepared the entire puja pandal with the help of locally available materials.

Inside the pandal premise, nine avatars of Goddess Durga was portrayed reflecting the “Power of Woman”. A complete pollution-free atmosphere was presented by the puja committee with minimum sound pollution. The immersion of the idol was also done in a very eco-friendly way.

Visitors appreciated the puja committee’s efforts towards eco-friendly celebration. With Dr Bhupen Hazarika’s music in the background the committee won the hearts of the visitors.

Maligaon Kalibari Durgotsav Samity Puja, Bhoothnath Durga Puja Committee, Kahilipara Durga Puja Samity and Santipur Sluicegate Durga Puja Committee gave tough competition to Hatigarh Zoo Narengi Path Sharbajanin Durga Puja Samity.

According to the society, the number of eco-friendly idols increased from last year’s 67 to 95. The winning committee will be felicitated on October 12.

This year a total of 79 puja committees had registered for the award, out of which 13 puja committees were nominated for the award.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »