Guwahati, Saturday, October 12, 2013
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Pujara triple help India A close in on victory

 HUBLI, Oct 11 (PTI): India A skipper Cheteshwar Pujara cracked his third triple ton in first-class cricket as India A rode on his brilliance to force West Indies A stare at an embarrassing defeat in the third unofficial ‘Test’ here today.

West Indies trail the hosts by 180 runs with seven wickets remaining in their second innings.

Pujara notched up an unbeaten 306 in a masterly exhibition of batsmanship as India A declared their first innings at 564 for nine just at the stroke of tea in reply to West Indies A’s 268 in their first essay, to take a substantial 296-run lead.

At stumps on day three, the Indians had reduced the visitors to 116 for three in their second innings at KSCA Stadium.


West Indies A 1st innings: 268

India A 1st innings (overnight 334 for three): V A Jagadeesh b D Johnson 16, Gautam Gambhir b Deonarine 123, Cheteshwar Pujara not out 306, Virender Sehwag c Nurse b Miller 38, Abhishek Nayar c sub (CAK Walton) b Fudadin 11, Paras Dogra b Miller 7, Uday Kaul c sub (CAK Walton) b Nurse 26, Dhawal Kulkarni c Cummins b Deonarine 6, Zaheer Khan c Powell b Nurse 19, Bhargav Bhatt b Nurse 0, Ishwar Pandey not out 0. Extras: (B-1, LB-6, W-3, NB-2) 12. Total: (For 9 wkts decl; 150 overs) 564. Fall of wickets: 1-35, 2-242, 3-317, 4-340, 5-359, 6-452, 7-491, 8-531, 9-531. Bowling: Miguel Cummins 23-4-71-0, Delorn Johnson 22-3-98-1, Jonathan Carter 6-1-22-0, Nikita Miller 40-8-112-2, Ashley Nurse 29-1-106-3, Assad Fudadin 16-3-60-1, Narsingh Deonarine 13-1-78-2, Kraigg Brathwaite 1-0-10-0.

West Indies A 2nd innings: Kraigg Brathwaite lbw b Pandey 21, Kieron Powell lbw b Khan 6, Leon Johnson b Kulkarni 1, Narsingh Deonarine not out 44, Assad Fudadin not out 36. Extras: (B-1, LB-5, NB-2) 8. Total: (For 3 wkts; 35 overs) 116. Fall of wickets: 1-17, 2-18, 3-57. Bowling: Zaheer Khan 8-1-32-1, Dhawal Kulkarni 7-1-22-1, Abhishek Nayar 4-0-12-0, Ishwar Pandey 6-3-11-1, Virendra Sehwag 8-0-25-0, Bhargav Bhatt 2-0-8-0.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »