Guwahati, Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
NE team included in badminton league

 GUWAHATI, Oct 2 - The new season of the Premier Badminton League which will take place in four cities across India from December 22 to January 14, 2018, will see a new team representing the North-eastern region, which was formed on September 25 here and has been christened as North Eastern Warriors.

The franchise agreement for forming of the new team North Eastern Warriors was signed here on September 25 between TK Engineering Consortium Pvt Ltd and Sportzlive Entertainment Pvt Ltd, the latter being the licensee of Badminton Association of India for the Premier Badminton League for the current season.

TK Engineering Consortium Pvt Ltd, a Itanagar-based company which is the owner of North Eastern Warriors, has resolved to promote development of badminton in North-eastern India to motivate the youngsters to adopt badminton as a mantra of life and open new vistas for promising sports talents of the region that has been already recognized as the sports nursery of the country. Several top international players will be roped in by TK Engineering Consortium Pvt Ltd in order to raise the standard of the young talents of the region.

With the entry of North Eastern Warriors, the Premier Badminton League will now have eight teams, the others being Delhi Acers, Mumbai Rockets, Awadhe Warriors (Lucknow), Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashers, Bengaluru Blasters and Ahmedabad Smash-masters. To be held in a rolling format, the third edition of Premier Badminton League will have Guwahati as one of the four centres, a release said.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »