Guwahati, Wednesday, October 03, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
OIL take home Bordoloi Trophy
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, Oct 2 – Oil India Limited (OIL) Duliajan perhaps played their best match this season and regained the Bordoloi Trophy after a gap of four years. Last they won the trophy in the year 2008 defeating ASEB Sports Club.In the final of the 61st edition of the premier championship at the Nehru Stadium here today, OIL out played a toothless Assam Rifles Soccer Team 4-1.

OIL players maintained an absolute cohesion from the word go and were determined to win the final. F Wary was the live wire of the OIL attack who played a vital role in initiating all the OIL moves.

Manas Manjit Chutia opened the sluice gate in the 15th minute. Jayanta Basumatary found Wary at the left flank with a diagonal pass and Wary set for Manas who beat Assam Rifles goal keeper Lokeswar Meetei with a sharp header (1-0).

Manas struck again in the 26th minute when he got the ball from Mintu Boro via Wary. Manas had nothing to do but to divert into goal (2-0).

By this time OIL took firm grip on the ground and made repeated forays. Jayanta Basumatary squandered two easy scoring opportunities in the later part of the firsts session. He failed to beat Lokeswar in point blank situations.

OIL started their second session where they left and started raiding Assam Rifles territory immediately after start of the second session. Jayanta finally got a goal in this tournament to give his team 3-0 lead in the 49th minute. Manas initiated the move from the midfield and passed to Wary who fed Jayanta with an accurate square pass. Jayanta kept his cool and pushed home.

In the 77th minute veteran Akum Ao netted a gem of a goal. With a solo effort Akum left behind OIL defenders Biplob Sonowal and Sishu Ram Chutia before beating Lokeswar from an acute angle (3-1).

Finally Zaidin Hmar made it 4-1 converting a spot kick in the 84th minute. Manas was brought down by rifleman Naoba Singh inside the box and referee Zeherul Islam awarded a penalty to OIL.

Wary was adjudged best player of the final by both host Guwahati Sports Association and Assam Sports Journalists Association. Jitu Chetry of OIL received the best goal keeper award.

In the closing function Assam Football Association president Hemendra Nath Brahma handed over the Bordoloi Trophy to OIL team.

The final was conducted by referee Zeherul Islam and he was assisted by Prabhat Kalita, Ripunath Gogoi and Rajen Basumatary.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »