Guwahati, Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
KK Handiqui award, fellowship announced
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, Nov 28 - Former Chief Election Commissioner Harishankar Brahma has been selected for the third Krishna Kanta Handiqui National Award 2017, while the Krishna Kanta Handiqui National Fellowship will be jointly given to mountaineer Anshu Jamsenpa and writer Sharmistha Pritam.

 Names of the award and fellowship recipients were announced here today by Dr Hitesh Deka, Vice Chancellor of the Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University (KKHSOU), which has instituted the national-level award and fellowship.

The award and fellowship would be given away on December 11 on the 12th foundation day of KKHSOU at the Pragjyoti Cultural Complex, Machkhowa.

A 1975-batch IAS officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre, Brahma was the Union Power Secretary before his induction into the Election Commission. He also heads the committee constituted by the Government of Assam for protection of land rights of indigenous people of the State.

The coveted award consists of a cash award of Rs 5 lakh, a citation and a memento.

Anshu Jamsenpa holds the record of being the first woman in the world to scale the summit of the Mount Everest twice in a season within a span of five days. The ace climber has created history with multiple 'double ascents' of the tallest peak of the world. She is also the first Indian woman to climb Mount Everest five times in a record time.

Sharmistha Pritam has carved a niche for herself in the field of writing. Suffering from Spinal Muscular Atrophy disease from her childhood, Sharmistha created an example for others by not letting the physical challenges come in the way of her creative pursuits.

The fellowship contains Rs 6 lakh for each of the recipients for two years, a citation and a memento each.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »