Guwahati, Sunday, November 23, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Sarala Birla lift school cricket trophy
Sports reporter

Players of Sarala Birla Gyanjyoti pose after winning the 5th Sitaram Agarwala Memorial U-16 Inter School Cricket trophy at Judges’ Field in Guwahati on Saturday. - UB Photos
 GUWAHATI, Nov 22 – Sarala Birla Gyan Jyoti proved too good to Don Bosco School, Guwahati with a 52-run victory in the final of the Bud Cricket Club organised Sitaram Agarwala Memorial U-16 Inter School Cricket Tournament.

In the final played at the Judges’ Field here today, showing their batting prowess, the Sarala Birla boys smacked up a mammoth 237 for the loss of six wickets in the allotted 40 overs. Their star batsman was Zibran Das who scored a match winning 145 not out of 117 balls. His swashbuckling knock was studded with 19 boundaries and six hits over the rope.

Chasing the huge target, the Bosconians, barring Erik Roy, (96 off 74 balls, 11X4, 4X6), no other batsman could hit form. They were all out for 185 in 38 overs. Man-of-the-match Zibran also swept away three Don Bosco scalps.

Zibran Das and Rahul Jain (jointly) and Rohan Dutta got the best batsman and best bowler awards respectively while Erik Roy was adjudged as the best player of the tournament. Hashmi Islam and Sayan Dey received the best fielder and best wicket-keeper awards.

In the closing function, Santanu Bharali, Mriganka Barman, Satyagopal Chakraborty, Mukut Das, Riazul Haque and Biswajit Mazumdar were present and handed over the trophies.

Brief scores: Sarala Birla 237/6 (Zibran Das 145 n.o, Rahul Agarwal 24, Anindya Sharma 17, Nahid H Saikia 3/47, Manikarna Sarma 2/46). Don Bosco 185 (Erik Roy 96, Zibran Das 3/23, Shubham Agarwal 2/21).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »