Guwahati, Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
42 elected unopposed in Darrang dist
 MANGALDAI, Nov 20 - Forty two candidates have been officially declared winners uncontested for the panchayats in Darrang district.

Additional Deputy Commissioner Kalpana Deka, overall in-charge of the panchayat polls of the district while talking to this correspondent informed this on Monday evening following completion of the nomination process. Monday was the final day for withdrawal of nominations after the process for scrutiny of nominations was over on November 16 last. Not a single candidate came for withdrawal of nomination, Deka said.

BJP candidate Dipali Deka contesting from Dipila Gaon Panchayat (GP) under Sipajhar Anchalik Panchayat (AP) is the only candidate to win as a member of the AP or GP Councillor. In addition to this, 41 candidates have been elected uncontested to the post of GP members out of which 27 candidates belong to the ruling BJP followed by eight of the Congress (INC) and three of BPF. The remaining three are Independent candidates.

The Sipajhar AP (Development Block ) has recorded the maximum of 30 of these winning candidates followed by five in Paschim Mangaldai AP while three candidates figured each in Kalaigaon AP and Pub Mangaldai AP. There were no uncontested winners in two religious minority-dominated APs of the district namely Dalgaon-Sialmari and Besimari. Now a total of 2641 candidates are left in the fray whose political fates will be decided by 5,71,835 voters of the district in the polls slated for December 5 next.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »