Guwahati, Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Assam bundled for 121, Odisha 86 for 3
 GUWAHATI, Nov 20 - Assam batsmen failed to take the home ground advantage as Odisha bowlers bundled them out for a paltry 121 in 51.1 overs on the opening day of the four-day Group C Ranji Trophy match at the ACA Stadium in Barsapara here today.

At stumps, Odisha were 86 for the loss of three wickets.

Being asked to bat first, Assam batsmen fell like nine pins as they failed to build even a single solid partnership throughout the innings.

Odisha medium pacer Rajesh Mohanty ripped through the Assam innings claiming five wickets giving away 31 runs in 18 overs. For the hosts only five batsmen Ranjit Mali (28), Riyan Parag (24), Sib Sankar Roy (16), Arup Das (16) and Rishav Das (14) could reach the double figure mark.

Odisha opener Anurag Rajendra Sarangi completed his half century and remained unbeaten on 61 which he scored off 87 balls. Handling Assam bowlers confidently he hit 13 boundaries.

It was however Assam medium pacer Mukhtar Hussain who claimed all the three Odisha wickets which fell today. He returned with impressive bowling figures of three for 27 in his 10 overs which also included four maiden overs.


Assam 1st Innings: Rishav Das c Poddar b Rajesh Mohanty 14, Parvez Aziz c Lenka b Rajesh Mohanty 3, Sib Sankar Roy lbw b Samantray 16, Kunal Saikia c Sarangi b DB Pradhan 1, Riyan Parag lbw b Rajesh Mohanty 24, Amit Sinha c Lenka b Rajesh Mohanty 5, Romario Sharma c Dhuper b Dhiraj Singh 0, Arup Das c DB Pradhan b Mohanty 16, Ranjit Mali c Lenka b DB Pradhan 28, Mukhtar Hussain c Lenka b Rajesh Mohanty 1, Rahul Singh not out 6. Extras: (lb 5, nb 1, w 1) 7. Total: (All out in 51.1 overs) 121. Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-18, 3-19, 4-46, 5-68, 6-69, 7-69, 8-103, 9-110, 10-121. Bowling: B Mohanty 13-4-22-1, Rajesh Mohanty 18-9-31-5, DB Pradhan 7.1-1-27-2, BB Samantray 5-3-3-1, Dhiraj Singh 8-0-33-1.

Odisha 1st Innings: AR Sarangi not out 61, RR Dhuper lbw b Mukhtar Hussain 1, GB Poddar b Mukhtar Hussain 0, SP Senapati c Saikia b Mukhtar Hussain 10, BB Samantray not out 7. Extras: (lb 6, nb 1) 7. Total: (For 3 wickets in 28 overs) 86. Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-16, 3-45. Bowling: Arup Das 7-3-11-0, Ranjit Mali 6-1-25-0, Mukhtar Hussain 10-4-27-3, Riyan Parag 4-0-17-0, Rahul Singh 1-1-0-0.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »