Guwahati, Monday, November 19, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Imran Shah new Sahitya Sabha president
 GUWAHATI, Nov 18 – Eminent litterateur Imran Shah was today elected as the new president of Asam Sahitya Sabha for the State’s apex literary body’s next session.

Shah, a poet, novelist and playwright, succeeds prominent writer Rong Bong Terang.

He was elected during the proceedings of the two-day seventh executive general session of the Sabha that concluded at Koliabor in Nagaon district today.

Shah accepted the verdict of the Sabha members, and in a faxed message to Sabha president Rong Bong Terang, agreed to assume the responsibilities of president for the coming session, sources told The Assam Tribune over phone from Koliabor.

Sabha general secretary Paramananda Rajbongshi was elected vice-president for the next session, while Prahlad Chandra Tasa was elected general secretary.

The octogenarian author who is a former professor of Sibsagar College has to his credit a number of acclaimed works. He is also a recipient of the prestigious Assam Valley Award and Ajan Peer Award.

Our Kaliabor Correspondent adds: In the election to the president’s post, Shah secured 581 votes, while Dr Naren Kalita came second with 114 votes and Kanak Sarma came third with 63 votes. For the vice-president’s post Dr Paramananda Rajbonshi won 407 votes, followed by Bhubaneswar Deka and Radha Bora who secured 246 and 99 votes respectively. In the election to the general secretary’s post, Prahlad Tasa got 459 votes. Haren Kalita and Ismail Hussain came second and third with 191 and 105 votes respectively. The Sabha’s 2015 conference will be held at Kaliabor as decided at the 7th executive plenary session.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »