Guwahati, Sunday, November 17, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Panel for construction of ‘Tarun-Biren Bhawan’ formed
 GOALPARA, Nov 16 - A meeting was organised by the Goalpara district committee of CPM at Baladmari Sah Bagan LP School, Durga Mandir here on Tuesday to constitute a construction committee for a new building of the party, to be named as ‘Tarun-Biren Bhawan’, in memory of renowned Communist leaders of Goalpara – former secretary of Goalpara district committee of CPM Tarun Khakhlary and former MLA Birendra Nath Choudhury.

Addressing the gathering as the chief guest, veteran Communist leader comrade Hemen Das reminisced about his association with comrade Birendra Nath Choudhury and with comrade Tarun Khakhlary in organising the people’s movement during the famine that devastated Assam in 1974.

Das strongly criticised the pro-capitalist economic policy of the government for the present-day crisis that has thrown lakhs of people out of jobs. He also pointed out that anti-people policies have brought unprecedented price rise and that the economic slowdown has produced acute crisis in rural India.

Moreover, Das also appealed to the audience to be vigilant against the divisive and communal agenda of the government.

Meanwhile, another CPM State committee leader, comrade Monoranjan Talukdar said that in spite of the challenges and adversities, the socialist movement is doing well all over the world, especially in the backdrop of the neo-liberal capitalist crisis it has become more clear today that there is no alternative to socialism.

Distinguished speaker, Professor Uttam Chandra Sarma while remembering his former colleague and close friend late former MLA Birendra Nath Choudhury said that only socialism can eradicate poverty and bring equity in our society and stressed on the need for remaining vigilant against divisive forces that seek to exploit our diversity.

Another speaker, former Vice Principal of Goalpara College, Professor ASR Ahmed fondly remembered his past association with the Communist movement in Goalpara and thanked the organisers for this great initiative. District committee CPM secretary Noni Das also spoke on the occasion

The meeting was presided over by retired Professor of Lakhipur College Dr Meera Devi. A construction committee with Prof Amiya Kumar Boro, former Principal of Goalpara College as the president and Dr Ahizuddin Seikh, former Principal of BN College, Dhubri as the secretary was constituted. The meeting saw a large gathering of people and most of them came forward with donations for strengthening the construction fund.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »