Guwahati, Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Commerce education pioneers felicitated

 GUWAHATI, Nov 15 – The Gauhati Commerce College, the premier institution of commerce education of the North Eastern region, organised a special programme at the Dr BC Lahkar Auditorium of the college recently to felicitate some of the teachers who pioneered commerce education in Assam and gave a noble direction in this arena for others to follow, a press release said.

 These teachers are Prof Shambhu Prasad Ghosh (St Anthony College, Shillong), Prof Kamal Chandra Goswami (Nagaon College), Prof Dulal Chandra Borthakur (B Borooah College, Guwahati), Prof Prem Chandra Jain (DHSK College, Dibrugarh), Prof Nabin Sarma (Dhana Manjori College, Imphal), Prof (Dr) Anil Kumar Sarma (Gauhati University), Prof Safa Uddin Ahmed (Kanoi College, Dibrugarh), Prof PC Bordoloi (Gauhati Commerce College) and Prof PN Hazarika (Gauhati University).

Except Prof Shambhu Prasad Ghosh and Prof Prem Chandra Jain, all the other seven teachers were present at the function and received the grand felicitation from the hands of the various faculty members of the college. The felicitation materials included a citation, a paat sador, a phulam gamosa and an amount of Rs 25,000 in cash. On the occasion, each of the felicitated teachers spoke on the their varied experiences in life and expressed their feelings about the unique gesture shown by the Gauhati Commerce College. They said that they were highly pleased at the felicitation. The family members of the teachers said that the felicitation would leave a positive impact on the emotions and the life of these teachers.

Dr Ghanashyam Nath, the principal of the college, said that Prof Ghosh and Prof Jain, who could not attend the function due to health reasons, would be felicitated at their residences in Shillong and Dibrugarh respectively soon. An audio-visual presentation of the interviews with these two professors was exhibited in the function and it was appreciated by those sitting in the audience as well as those on the dais.

The function started with the lighting of the ceremonial lamp by Dr D Bharali, the president of the governing body of the college. The welcome address was delivered by Dr Bharali and Dr Ghanashyam Nath, the principal of the college. The programme was anchored by Dr Purna Bhattacharjee and Dr RK Pathak, both of whom are faculty members of the Gauhati Commerce College.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »