Guwahati, Monday, November 15, 2010
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BPF starts poll campaign at Gauripur
 GAURIPUR, Nov 14 – Amid a large number of supporters, the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) started their election campaign by opening the district office at Gauripur on November 7.

Former MLA Hemen Brahma inaugurated the district office in presence of central committee’s vice-president Baktar Ali Ahmed, general secretary Prabin Boro and ex-MLA Banendra Kumar Mushahary.

The meeting held on the occasion was presided over by Manmohan Barman, who recently joined the BPF from AGP. The meeting constituted the female and youth wings of BPF. The president in his speech declared that the BPF would contest several seats from the district of Dhubri and would be able to win the 24 Gauripur LAC seat where the party candidate Banendra Kumar Mushahary would be nominated. He also said that the BPF candidate would come out successful as he recently joined the BPF leaving the regional AGP party along with a large number of supporters.

New organisation: A new organisation in the name and style of ‘Aawz Foundation’ was formed at Gauripur in order to introduce art and craft among the unemployed youths through an institution for their self-employment.

For this purpose, a general meeting attended by hundreds of youths of the locality was held on November 5 last on the premises of Shrimanta Sankardev ME School, Gauripur. The meeting was presided over by Jatindra Narayan Adhikary, retired Ranger.

The objective was explained by Abhijit Baruah. The meeting started by a chorus sung by a group of youths. Basanta Haloi from among the organisers in his speech high-lighted the aims and objectives of the proposed institution and urged upon the educated unemployed youths to avail the facilities offered by this organisation.

A managing committee was also formed with Buddhadev Adhikary, Abhijit Baruah, Basanta Haloi, Milan Dihidar and Dipankar Ray as president, secretary, asstt secretary, management secretary, asstt management secretary respectively. Nipan Sharma anchored the programme. Milan Dihidar offered the vote of thanks.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »