Guwahati, Monday, November 11, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Chahar’s hat-trick hands India T20 series win

Deepak Chahar celebrates with Washington Sundar after dismissing Soumya Sarkar of Bangladesh during the 3rd T20I at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur, on Sunday. – PTI
 NAGPUR, Nov 10: Pacer Deepak Chahar took a sensational six-wicket haul, including a hat-trick after entertaining half-centuries from Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul, as India defeated a self-destructing Bangladesh by 30 runs in the third and final T20 International to win the series 2-1, here on Sunday.

 Pacers Deepak Chahar (6/7 in 3.2 overs), who registered the best figures in a T20 match on Sunday besides becoming the first Indian to take a hat-trick in the shortest format, and Shivam Dube (3/30) shared nine wickets amongst themselves to secure India’s first T20 series win at home this season.

Heavy late evening dew rendered the spinners ineffective but Chahar and Dube rose to the occasion.

Iyer (62 off 33) and Rahul (52 off 35) had earlier smashed sublime half-centuries to propel India to 174 for five after Bangladesh opted to field. Chasing the target, the visitors were all out for 144 in 19.2 overs.

With 50 needed off the last 30 balls and six wickets in hand, Bangladesh had a great opportunity to win the series but they crumbled under pressure.

Rookie opener Mohammad Naim (81 of 48) played a blinder to take Bangladesh deep into the game before they lost five wickets for 20 runs to blow it all away.

Chasing a challenging 175, Bangladesh suffered early setbacks as Chahar had opener Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar caught off successive balls to leave the visitors at 12 for two.

Naim, playing his debut series, and Mohammad Mithun (27) shared a 98-run stand for the third wicket to bring their team back into the contest.

Left-hander Naim played some exquisite strokes especially against the spinners and welcomed Yuzvendra Chahal into the attack with three consecutive fours.


India: Rohit Sharma b Shafiul Islam 2, Shikhar Dhawan c Mahmudullah b Shafiul Islam 19, KL Rahul c Liton Das b Al-Amin Hossain 52, Shreyas Iyer c Liton Das b Soumya Sarkar 62, Rishabh Pant b Soumya Sarkar 6, Manish Pandey not out 22, Shivam Dube not out 9. Extras: (W-2) 2. Total: (For 5 wickets, 20 overs) 174. Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-35, 3-94, 4-139, 5-144. Bowling: Al-Amin Hossain 4-0-22-1, Shafiul Islam 4-1-32-2, Mustafizur Rahman 4-0-42-0, Aminul Islam 3-0-29-0, Soumya Sarkar 4-0-29-2, Afif Hossain 1-0-20-0.

Bangladesh: Liton Das c Washington Sundar b Chahar 9, Mohammad Naim b Dube 81, Soumya Sarkar c Dube b Chahar 0, Mohammad Mithun c Rahul b Chahar 27, Mushfiqur Rahim b Dube 0, Mahmudullah b Chahal 8, Afif Hossain c&b Dube 0, Aminul Islam b Chahar 9, Shafiul Islam c Rahul b Chahar 4, Mustafizur Rahman c Iyer b Chahar 1, Al-Amin Hossain not out 0. Extras: (lb 3, w 2) 5. Total: (All out, 19.2 overs) 144. Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-12, 3-110, 4-110, 5-126, 6-126, 7-130, 8-135, 9-144, 10-144. Bowling: KK Ahmed 4-0-27-0, Washington Sundar 4-0-34-0, DL Chahar 3.2-0-7-6, YS Chahal 4-0-43-1, S Dube 4-0-30-3. –PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »