Guwahati, Monday, November 11, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
RG Baruah memorial art contest held at 30 venues across State
Staff Reporter

Children taking part in the RG Baruah Memorial State-level Art Competition at the Assam Tribune premises, in Guwahati on Sunday. – AT Photo
 GUWAHATI, Nov 10 - Over a thousand youngsters took part in the Singhapurush Radha Govinda Baruah Memorial State-level Art Competition held at 30 different venues across the State on Sunday.

 The competition, organised by the Assam Tribune Sports Club (ATSC), was held in two groups. The first group included students from classes 5 to 8 and the second group included students from classes 9 to 12. The topic of the first group was ‘I Wish to Fly’ and the topic of the second group was ‘Advancement of Science’.

On Sunday morning, the competition was formally inaugurated by Biren Singha, the noted sculptor of Assam. The inaugural meeting was presided by Dainik Asom’s executive editor Munin Bayan, in which artist Dr Anjan Jyoti Choudhury took part as the honourable guest. Before the meeting, The Assam Tribune editor Prafulla Govinda Baruah lit a ‘diya’ in front of the photograph of Radha Govinda Baruah and paid tributes.

Delivering the inaugural address, Singha said, “This competition is a grand arrangement and a positive initiative for all of us. It will provide a platform for the young artists of the State. I feel blessed and honoured to be here as the guest.”

Singha also recalled the contributions of Radha Govinda Baruah in his speech.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Choudhury said, “Radha Govinda Baruah had played a vital role in the making of modern Assam. He was a great personality and had immense love for Assam.”

He also announced that he is going to release a song on Radha Govinda Baruah in January next year.

In his speech, Bayan urged the participants not to bother about winning or losing in the competition.

More than a thousand people took part in the meeting, including participants, their guardians and well-wishers of the Tribune Group along with members of the ATSC and the Assam Tribune Employees’ Union. ATSC president Hiranya Kumar Barman explained the objective of the meeting and Pankaj Borthakur delivered the vote of thanks.

ATSC general secretary Bhaskar Das informed that the results of the competition will be announced in the last week of this month. Each of the winners in both the categories will be awarded Rs 15,000, a trophy and a certificate. The second winners in both the categories will receive Rs 10,000 each along with a trophy and a certificate and the third winners in both the categories will receive Rs 7,000 each along with a trophy and a certificate.

Moreover, the fourth to tenth position holders will be awarded Rs 1,000 along with a trophy and a certificate each. Again, all participants in the competition will get a certificate from the organiser.

The selected artworks of the competition will be exhibited on the ATSC premises and published in The Assam Tribune and the Dainik Asom accordingly.

Today the competition was held in Guwahati – the Assam Tribune Buildings; Morigaon – Sanjibani Kala Niketan; Raha – Adarsha Sishu Vikash Kendra; Nagaon – Renaissance Madhyamik Bidyalaya; Diphu – Diphu Club; Silchar – SM Dev Stadium; Golaghat – Golaghat Jatiya Bidyalaya (Hamdoi); Jorhat – Chandra Kanta Handique Bhawan; Majuli – 1 No Kamalabari Prathamik Bidyalaya; Sivasagar – Sivasagar Grantha Utsav; Sonari – Sonari Nagar Prathamik Bidyalaya; Dibrugarh – BL Beria Saraswati Sishu Mandir, Lachit Nagar; Tinsukia – Hindi English School, Prakash Bazar; Duliajan – Pub Jaloni Prathamik Bidyalaya; Digboi – Rashtriya Bidyalaya; Dhemaji – Monalisa Art Academy; North Lakhimpur – Genius Academy; Biswanath Chariali – Chariali Nagar Prathamik Bidyalaya, Ambari; Tezpur – Sadau Assam Sangbadik Sanstha Auditorium, Amolapatti; Mangaldoi – Glorious Public School, Karim Chowk; Rangiya – Rangiya Sikshak Prashikshan Mahabidyalaya; Nalbari – Nalbari Girls’ Higher Secondary School, Solmara – Dahudi High School; Tihu – Tihu Jatiya Bidyalaya; Pathsala – Pathsala Hari Mandir; Barpeta – Barpeta Press Club, Bongaigaon – Gyanodai Jatiya Bidyalaya, North Bongaigaon; Kokrajhar – 804 Rupnath Brahma Bidyapith; Dhubri – Sankardev Sishu Niketan, Barua Patti, Gauripur and Goalpara – Baladmari Sah Bagan Prathamik Bidyalaya.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »