Guwahati, Friday, November 9, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Md Sporting lift Bordoloi Trophy

Players of Mohammedan Sporting Club pose for photographs with the trophy after emerging champions in the 65th Bharat Ratna Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy Football Tournament in Guwahati, on Thursday. – AT photo
 GUWAHATI, Nov 8 - Former six times champions Mohammedan Sporting Club of Kolkata after a long gap of 26 years emerged champions in the 65th Bharat Ratna Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy Football Tournament defeating Oil India FC of Duliajan by a clear margin of 3-1 goals. The last time Mohammedan won the trophy was in the year 1991.

In the final played under lights at the Nehru Stadium here today, both the teams were in good form but the Kolkata outfit utilised the opportunities they got while Oil India FC frontliners missed goal scoring opportunities and they should blame themselves for not taking the lead in the first 15 minutes. Mintu Boro and Milan Basumatary squandered some easy scoring opportunity otherwise Oil could have gone well ahead in the initial stage itself.

It was however Mohammedan Sporting skipper Philip Adjah who almost single handedly won the match for his team.

Adjah not only scored two back-to-back goals but also was instrumental in their first goal netted by Ashim Kumar Dey in the 26th minute.

With the 1-0 lead at the break, Adjah enhanced the margin in the 60th minute with a solo effort displaying his superb individual skill. He again hit the target after two minutes beating Oil custodian Arup Baruah in an one-on-one situation.

Oil finally managed to reduce the margin in the 87th minute when Sirandeep Moran found the back of the net.

Adjah was declared best player of the final by the organisers Guwahati Sports Association and Assam Sports Journalists Association while Laltu Mandal of the winning side received the best goalkeeper award.

Earlier, players were introduced to Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal before the start of the match which finally started at 6 pm instead of 5 pm.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »