Guwahati, Thursday, November 8, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Jorhat dist admin gears up for panchayat polls
Staff Correspondent
 JORHAT, Nov 7 - The Jorhat district administration has fully geared up to conduct the panchayat elections to be held on December 5 in the district and accordingly identified the very sensitive and sensitive polling booths.

 Necessary measures to provide adequate security to ensure free and fair polls have been planned.

Addressing a joint press conference here today, Jorhat Deputy Commissioner Narayan Konwar and Superintendent of Police Vaibhav Nimbalkar, stated that Jorhat district has been divided into two election districts – Jorhat Sadar subdivision and Titabar (Civil) subdivision.

The Deputy Commissioner said that the Jorhat Sadar subdivision has been divided into six zones and 31 sectors. He said the total number of gaon panchayats that will go to polls were 57, anchalik panchayats five while the number of zila panchayat constituencies were 12.

Konwar said that the total number of voters were 3,51,739 out of which 1,79,267 were males and 1,72,472 females. The total number of polling stations is 609.

About the new rules to be followed during this panchayat polls, Konwar said that affidavits would have to be furnished by the candidates about the existence of a sanitary toilet in their houses and that the number of children, if more than two had been born on or before March 19, 2018, as per the new guidelines.

For a candidate wanting to contest for the gaon panchayat ward member, the minimum educational qualification is class VI passed, for anchalik parishad member, class VIII passed and for zila parishad member, higher secondary passed.

Nimbalkar said that 40 polling booths had been identified as very sensitive, 192 as sensitive and 377 as comparatively safe in Jorhat Sadar subdivision.

He said that a helpline would be opened soon and security personnel will be on duty round the clock.

An official of the Titabar (Civil) subdivision administration said that Titabar too had been divided into six zones and 16 sectors. Elections will be held in four anchalik panchayats and 33 gaon panchayats. There are seven zila panchayat constituencies in Titabar subdivision.

He said that the total number of polling stations was 347, total voters 211424 with 105935 males and 10548 females.

The official said that 95 booths had been identified as very sensitive and 120 sensitive out of the 347 polling booths in Titabar subdivision and 132 relatively safe.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »