Guwahati, Saturday, November 07, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
9 Cong dissident MLAs join BJP
Staff Reporter

Nine dissident Congress MLAs including Pradan Baruah, Piyush Hazarika, Jayanta Malla Baruah, Bolin Chetia, Rajen Barthakur, Kripa Nath Malla, Binanda Saikia, Abu Taher Bepari, Pallav Lochan Das joined the BJP in Guwahati on Friday. – AT Photo
 GUWAHATI, Nov 6 - Nine Congress MLAs of the State were formally inducted into the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today. The nine dissident MLAs – Bolin Chetia, Pradan Barua, Pallab Lochan Das, Rajen Borthakur, Pijush Hazarika, Kripanath Mallah, Abu Taher Bepari, Binanda Saikia and Jayanta Mallah Barua – were welcomed into the party at a function held at the BJP Assam Pradesh head office here.

Senior BJP leaders, who were present at the formal joining function, included national general secretary of the party Ram Madhav, State BJP president Siddhartha Bhattacharya, MPs Ramen Deka, Bijoya Chakraborty, among others.

Speaking on the occasion, Ram Madhav said that in Assam people and the people’s representatives have come together to usher in better days for the State that has been ruined by the Congress.

Criticizing the Tarun Gogoi government, Ram Madhav said the people want an end to the corruption and incompetency of the Congress and views the BJP as an alternative.

“The door of BJP is open to all who have the welfare and development of Assam in their hearts. Today’s development is an indicator of the change that is sweeping the political sphere in the State,” he said and added that the saffron party is going to win the 2016 Assembly election in the State.

Madhav said that the BJP will give the people of Assam a development-centric government.

Two senior APCC leaders also joined the BJP today.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »