Guwahati, Tuesday, November 6, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Assam post 10-wkt victory against Tripura
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, Nov 5 – Assam made a flying start in the Ranji Trophy Group C with a thumping 10-wicket victory against Tripura.

On the final day of the four-day match at the Nehru Stadium here today, requiring 62 for an outright victory in the second innings, Assam notched up the runs in 15.2 overs without losing any wicket. Pallav Das and Amit Sinha remained unbeaten on 52 and 3 respectively. Resuming their second innings at the overnight total of 168 for six, Tripura batsmen frustrated Assam’s bowlers with some courageous batting and forced Assam to bat again in the second innings.

Skipper Ajoy Ratra was the man who batted with resolute and scored 124 off 255 balls. He stayed at the crease for 391 minutes and hit 18 boundaries. Manishankar Morasingh (62) provided him ample support and both added 107 runs for the seventh wicket partnership. Tailenders Timir Chanda (52) and Rana Dutta (32 n.o) also showed great deal of determination and added 80 and 74 runs for the eighth and ninth wicket partnerships respectively with Ratra.

However, left arm spinner Syed Mohammad, finally did the trick and removed Monishankar, Timir along with yesterday’s Abhijit Dey to confirm Assam’s victory. Arup Das took the vital wicket of Ajay Ratra trapping him leg before. Syed Mohammad and Arup Das were the leading wicket takers for Assam in Tripura’s second knock with four and three scalps respectively while Abu and Arlen Konwar took two and one.

With this victory, Assam got 7 points, including a bonus. In the next match, Assam will play Jharkhand in the away match from November 9.


Assam 1st innings: 450

Tripura 1st innings: 145

Tripura 2nd innings: Subhrajit Roy ct RN Das b Abu Nacheim 8, SM Singha ct Tajinder Balbir Sing b AK Das 2, RH Saha b Abu Nacheim 11, Udit Patel lbw b JSyed Mohammed 39, SG Ali lbw b A Konwar 18, AS Ratra lbw b AK Das124, AA Dey ct GK Sharma b JSyed Mohammed 0, MB Mora Singh lbw b JSyed Mohammed 62, TK Chanda ct Pallav Das b JSyed Mohammed 58 , Rana Dutta not out 32, TS Saha ct D Jadhav b AK Das 6. Extras: (2 wd, 3 b, 1 lb) 6. Total: (all out in 128.5 overs) 366. Bowling: Abu Nacheim 25-4-94-2, AK Das 18.5-8-52-3, A Konwar 30-6-99-1, Pallav Das 2-1-3-0, JSyed Mohammed 37-8-83-4, GK Sharma 8-0-16-0, Tajinder Singh 8-2-15-0.

Assam 2nd innings: Pallav Das n.o. 52, Amit Sinha n.o. 3. Extras: 7. Total: 62. Bowling: Timir Chanda 5-1-11-0, Rana Datta 4-0-23-0, Manisankar 1-8-0, Tushar Saha 3-0-12-0, Rajib Saha 2.2-0-4-0.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »