Guwahati, Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Sikkim CM, 2 BJP MLAs take oath
A correspondent
 GANGTOK, Nov 4 - Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang (Golay) of the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), and the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Sonam Tshering Venchungpa and YT Lepcha were sworn in as members of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly on Monday.

Speaker LB Das administered the oath to the three MLAs who were recently elected in the bye-elections from Poklok Kamrang, Martam Rumtek and Gangtok assembly constituencies, respectively. The first session (Part-III) of the 10th Sikkim Legislative Assembly was specially convened by the Speaker to administer oath to the three members. After the oath, all members of the House congratulated the three new members of the Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile, Speaker LB Das stated that all the 12 MLAs who switched their party affiliation from Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) to BJP and from SDF to SKM have not submitted the complete documents in the Assembly. This technically means that the Assembly’s seating arrangement remains unchanged.

DT Lepcha, one of the MLAs who had defected from the SDF to the BJP, later told the media that all relevant documents would be submitted by the next session of the Assembly.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »