Guwahati, Tuesday, May 31, 2011
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Arunachal CM appoints 20 parliamentary secretaries
 ITANAGAR, May 30 – Toeing his predecessor Dorjee Khandu’s line on populism, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jarbom Gamlin on Monday appointed as many as 20 parliamentary secretaries apparently to accelerate the implementation of all developmental projects and ensure proper discharge of duties by the new government.

Nineteen of them were retained from the previous Dorjee Khandu government and the only new face was the MLA from Yachuli constituency, Likha Saaya, who had earlier held the post of Chairman of Arunachal Pradesh Energy Development Agency.

The parliamentary secretaries were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Chief Minister Gamlin – who had taken over the State’s reins on May 5 following the demise of former CM Dorjee Khandu on April 30 – at a brief function at the State Banquet Hall here this morning.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended among others by State Assembly Speaker Wanglin Lowangdong, Ministers, MLAs, the Chief Secretary and other top-ranking officials and party leaders.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »