Guwahati, Thursday, May 30, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
12 Manipur Cong MLAs resign from party posts
 IMPHAL, May 29 - Taking moral responsibility for the party’s defeat in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections in Manipur, 12 Congress MLAs have tendered resignation from their respective posts in the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC).

 The 12 MLAs are Govindas Khonthoujam (chief whip), K Ranjit Singh (treasurer), N Loken Singh (vice president), Md Nasir (vice president), DD Thaisii (vice president), Kh Joykisan (vice president), Fajur Rahim (chairman of the minority cell), RK Imo Singh (general secretary), K Meghachandra Singh (general secretary), Chaltolian Amo (vice president), Alfred K Athur (general secretary) and D Korungthang (CLP secretary).

Govindas Khonthoujam and other MLAs announced this at a press conference held at the Congress Bhavan here today. MLAs N Loken, Dr Chaltolian, K Ranjit, Md Nasir, K Meghachandra, Kh Joykisan and Th Lokeshwar were present at the press conference.

K Ranjit said that the MLAs have tendered their resignation from their respective posts in the MPCC so that they can undertake work to strengthen the party at the grassroot level.

On whether their resignation papers would be accepted or not, MPCC president Gaikhangam, the sitting MLA of Nungba Assembly constituency, said the matter would be decided by the AICC. However, he clarified that the resignation of the MLAs from their respective posts in the MPCC is a kind of routine exercise to restructure and strengthen the party.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »