Guwahati, Monday, May 30, 2011
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Tezpur varsity VC nominated to Plan panel WG
 TEZPUR, May 29 The Planning Commission has nominated Professor Mihir K Chaudhuri, Vice Chancellor, Tezpur University as a member of the Working Group of the Department of Science Technology, Government of India constituted for formulating the Twelfth Five Year Plan.

The Working Group under the chairmanship of Dr T Ramasami, Secretary, DST, shall review and assess the performance and role of the DST and identify priorities of the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and suggest policy initiatives for enabling India to emerge as a major global technological power by 2025. The Working Group shall also set the agenda for the Decade of Innovations during 20102020 in the context of the priorities and goals for the Twelfth Plan Period.

Some of the other members of the Planning Commission Working Group are Dr Ajay K Sood, president, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, Dr M. Barma, director, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Professor P Balaram, director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Professor Dinesh Singh, Vice Chancellor, Delhi University, Delhi, Naina Lal Kidwai, Chairperson, HSBC, Chanda Kochhar, managing director & CEO, ICICI Bank, Professor Devang V Khakhar, director, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai and a few more.

Other Headlines