Guwahati, Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
New Aizawl West-I MLA takes oath
 AIZAWL, May 28 - Zothantluanga, who was recently elected to the Mizoram Assembly in the by-poll to the Aizawl West-I constituency, was sworn in today.

The 65-year-old MLA was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Assembly Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo at the latter’s office chamber at the Assembly Building this afternoon.

Chief Minister Zoramthanga, Health Minister Dr R Lalthangliana, Home Minister Lalchamliana, Agriculture Minister C Lalrinsanga, Deputy Speaker Er Lalrinawma, School Education Minister Lalchhandama Ralte, MLAs and others were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

With the induction of Zothantluanga, the total number of the ruling MNF MLAs has gone up to 27 in the 40-member house. The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) has seven MLAs, the Congress has five, and the BJP has one MLA.

Zothantluanga got elected in the by-election by polling 12,309 of the total 18,154 votes cast. His nearest rival, Lalbuanga Sailo (Independent), who was supported by the ZPM-Congress combine, bagged 5,322 votes, Returning Officer Vanlalngaihsaka said.

Zothantluanga, a former student leader, is currently adviser to the ruling MNF. He was one of the founding leaders of the Mizo Students’ Union. The by-poll was held as ZPM leader Lalduhoma vacated the seat which he won in the State Assembly elections held on November 28 last year and decided to retain the Serchip seat.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »