Guwahati, Monday, May 23, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Eight Nalbari-origin legislators in new Assembly
Ramen Kalita
 NALBARI, May 22 - The people of Nalbari district get a reason to be happy as eight legislators who made it to the 14th Assam Assembly are originally from Nalbari. Seven out of eight legislators won the elections on BJP tickets, while one won on Congress ticket.

All the three constituencies of the district were captured by the BJP candidates. They are Ashok Sarma from Nalbari LAC, Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharmapur LAC and Narayan Deka from Barkshetri LAC.

While former AGP minister Chandra Mohan Patowary won the election for the fifth term, Ashok Sarma and Narayan Deka are newcomers to the Assembly. Besides them, legislator Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma who won from the Jalukbari LAC is originally from Nalbari district. His father Kailash Sarma who worked in the Industries Department was a resident of Latima village in Nalbari district.

Himanta Biswa Sarma has a cordial relationship with his native village of Latima and feels proud as a Nalbarian. Former State BJP president Siddhartha Bhattacharya who won from the Pub Guwahati LAC is originally from the district too. His father Gauri Shankar Bhattacharya of Chatama village under Barbhag revenue circle in Nalbari district was a dedicated politician of the State politics. Bhattacharya learnt about the value-based politics from his father.

In Patacharkuchi LAC of Barpeta district, a dedicated politician, Prabindra Deka, won the seat for the third time to the 14th Assam Assembly. Deka is also a Nalbarian by birth as his native place is Kaurehagi village near Tihu in Nalbari district. In 1985 poll, Deka won the seat with highest margin of votes among the 126 legislators.

In Batadraba LAC of Nagaon, a young woman Angoorlota Deka elected on BJP ticket. A daughter-in-law of Nagaon, she also hails from a remote village of Nalbari district. She was born at Katpuha village of the district and was a popular actress. She married to Akashdwip, a film actor.

Furthermore, Nandita Das, a daughter-in-law of Nalbari district won the Boko seat on Congress ticket. A daughter-in-law of Galdighala village near Adabari in Nalbari district, Nandita worked in Nalbari district for a long time. She was a strong ticket aspirant of AGP from Barkshetri constituency in 2011 poll. However, she joined the Congress party and started working in the constituency.

A Mahila Congress leader, Nandita was given ticket from Boko seat from where she won the Assembly election for the first time.

Other Headlines