Guwahati, Tuesday, May 21, 2013
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
80 pc turnout in NC Hills polls
 HAFLONG, May 20 With the casting of 80 per cent of votes election for the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council passed off peacefully and with great enthusiasm among the people of Dima Hasao District.

Right from 7 am, people were seen in long queue at almost all the polling stations in and around Haflong. In the morning casting of votes was 27 per cent which increased gradually. A total of 1,20,754 numbers of voters will cast their votes in 200 polling station which was divided into ten zones like Haflong, Dehangi, Langting, Mahur, Harangajao, Maibang, Umrangso Diyungbra, Khepre and Jinam. Counting will be held on May 24.

However, at Waisikhong polling station of 16 Diyungmukh Constituency was stopped by the gaonbura of Waishikhong village objecting 110 voters to cast their votes for two hours. Later with the intervention of the Returning Officer and Deputy Commissioner Barun Bhuiyan the matter was solved.

All together 138 candidates are in the fray. Among these Congress party had fielded 28 candidates while BJP fielded 9, Hills State Democratic Party fielded 14 and rest are former Dima Halam Daogah and others as Independent candidates.

Dilip Nunisa, Niranjan Hojai, Daniel Dimasa, Debojit Thaosen are among the prominent candidates contesting for the polls.

Other Headlines