Guwahati, Saturday, May 20, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Silapathar case: HC denies bail to 22 accused
STAFF Reporter
 GUWAHATI, May 19 - The Gauhati High Court today denied bail to all the 22 accused in the Silapathar violence case where the local office of the All Assam Students Union (AASU) was attacked by some miscreants.Special public prosecutor Bijon Kumar Mahajan opposed the bail petitions citing the gravity of the case after which the court of Ajit Barthakur refused the entire lot the privilege of going on bail, which included Gauhati High Court lawyer Sahadev Debnath.

Of the 22 bail petitions, there was only one anticipatory bail filed by Krishnadev Nath.

The others include Akhil Dev Nath, Ajit Debnath, Sankar Das, Kirti Purkayastha, Babul Debnath, Bhusan Rajbangshi, Swapan Das, Banabashi Sarkar, Samiran Debnath, Dilip Debnath, Sanjay Das, Bharat Rajbangshi, Patit Paban Rajbangshi, Joydeep Das, Ratan Sarkar, Ramendra Paul, Rasik Chandra Nath, Madan Debnath, Sureh Kumar Shah and Mohan Das.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »