Guwahati, Friday, May 20, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP, AGP bag 3 Golaghat seats
 DERGAON, May 19 - The BJP-AGP alliance showed good performance in Golaghat district. According to the results, three out of five seats were bagged by the BJP-AGP alliance candidates where the other two seats were bagged by the Congress.

 In Dergaon constituency, AGP candidate Bhabendra Nath Bhorali won the seat by defeating ruling MLA Arati Hazarika Kachari by a margin of 16,272 votes. Bhaben Bhorali got 63,079 votes, while Arati Hazarika got 46,807 votes.

On the other hand, other candidates like Ajit Hazarika (NCP) got 1,828 votes, Rita Das (IND) got 3,622 and Bhuban Ch Saikia (IND) got 3,225 votes. The Khumtai constituency was bagged by BJP candidate Mrinal Saikia by defeating Congress candidate Bismita Gogoi by a margin of 16,874 votes. Mrinal Saikia got 57,637 votes, while Bismita Gogoi got 40,763 votes. Other candidates like Lalan Thakur (CPI) got 2,005 votes, Sahjahan Ali (AIUDF) got 1,763 votes and Hemanta Doloi (IND) got 813 votes.

In Bokakhat LAC, AGP candidate Atul Bora defeated present MLA Congress candidate Arun Phukan with a margin of 40,184 votes. Atul Bora got 62,952 votes, while Aruin Phukan got 22,768 votes. On the other hand, Independent candidates Anima Gogoi got 11,872 votes, Bijoy Kutum got 1,351 votes, Mritunjoy Pegu got 905 votes and Rebakanta Gogoi got 3,414 votes.

In Golaghat LAC, Minister Ajanta Neog retained the seat by defeating BJP candidate Bitupoan Saikia by a margin 5,214 votes. Ajanta got 73,850 votes, while Bitupon got 68,636 votes. Other candidates like Jahid Abdullah got 1,804 votes and Dipak Sas got 1,193 votes. The Sarupathar seat was bagged by Congress candidate Roselina Tirki.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »