Guwahati, Friday, May 20, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP gets 3 LACs in Lakhimpur
 NORTH LAKHIMPUR, May 19 - The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance partner won three out of four LACs of Lakhimpur district in the 2016 Assam Assembly polls, while one went to the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF).

 In 109-Bihpuria LAC, Debananda Hazarika of the BJP defeated incumbent MLA Bhupen Borah of Congress by a margin of 26,187 votes. Hazarika got 66,563 votes, while Borah received 40,376 votes.

In 110-Nowboicha LAC, Mamun Imdadul Haq Chawdhury of AIUDF defeated BJP’s Rao Gajendra Singh by a margin of 12,33 votes. The AIUDF candidate got 56,003, while the BJP candidate counted 54,770 votes.

In 111-Lakhimpur LAC, incumbent MLA Utpal Dutta of AGP defeated Congress candidate Joy Prakesh Das by 4,191 votes. The AGP candidate, who was in alliance with BJP, received 45,917 votes, while his Congress challenger got 41,726 votes.

Naba Kumar Doley, the incumbent MLA from 112-Dhakuwakhona LAC, contesting this time from a BJP ticket, defeated Congress heavyweight Bharat Narah by a margin of 24,542 votes. The BJP candidate got 81,556 votes as against 57,014 votes earned by Bharat Narah of Congress.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »