Guwahati, Friday, May 20, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP wins 4 seats in Tinsukia, Pradyut loses

 TINSUKIA, May 19 - Four constituencies, namely, Tinsukia, Margherita, Sadiya and Digboi have been won by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates – Sanjay Kishan, Bhaskar Sharma, Bolin Chetia and Suren Phukon, respectively. All these seats were under the Congress party for the last 15 years.

 On the other hand, Doomdooma constituency, which was under the BJP, has been won by Congress candidate Durga Bhumij in this election. The biggest upset for the Congress party is the loss of its stalwart candidate, Pradyut Bordoloi who was a Minister of the Government of Assam for several years and at present holding the post of Advisor to the Chief Minister at Margherita.

Another setback for the Congress party is the loss of Digboi constituency. Rameswer Dhanwar of Congress has ruled the constituency since 1978, but this time his son Gautom Dhanwar lost to BJP candidate Suren Phukon.

Similarly, for the second time, Tinsukia seat has gone to other party than Congress in its election history. It was won by late Golap Borbora of Janata Party in 1978 who had become Chief Minister of the State.

In Tinsukia, RP Singh of Congress bagged 35,842 votes and BJP’s Sanjay Kishan polled 70,774 votes. In Digboi, Congress candidate Gautom Dhanwar bagged 34,836 votes whereas Suren Phukon of BJP, who won the seat, bagged 49,123 votes. In Doomdooma, Durga Bhumij of INC bagged 46,938 votes whereas his nearest rival, BJP’s Dilip Moran bagged 46,150 votes.

It may be mentioned here that Dilip Moran is the sitting MLA of the constituency. In Margherita, INC candidate Pradyut Bordoloi bagged 53,620 votes, while Bhaskar Sharma of the BJP, who won the seat, bagged 76,362 votes. In Sadiya, BJP candidate Bolin Chetia bagged 38,776 votes, Congress candidate Birinchi Neog bagged 32,254 votes and Independent candidate Lakhin Chetia bagged 21, 820 votes.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »