Guwahati, Friday, May 20, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Big win for BJP in Barak Valley

Cong leader Gautam Roy lost.
 SILCHAR, May 19 - There were euphoric scenes across the Barak Valley on Thursday afternoon as the Bharatiya Janata Party rode to power winning eight out of the 15 seats here in the 2016 Assembly elections. The AIUDF won four seats, while the Congress managed to bag only three seats.

 According to political pundits, this is the best performance by the BJP in Barak Valley after 1991 when it won nine out of the 15 seats.

While BJP candidates from Borkhola and Udharbond Kishore Nath and Mihir Kanti Shome came up with surprises beating formidable Congress opponents Rumi Nath and Ajit Singh, the biggest loss for the Congress party was the defeat of Gautam Roy from the Katlichera. Roy got 35,584 votes which were not enough to defeat AIUDF’s Sujam Uddin Laskar who bagged 50,674 votes.

In Cachar district, barring Lakhipur seat, BJP stamped victory in all the other six constituencies, including the coveted Silchar seat. Dilip Kumar Paul defeated his main competitor and INC candidate Bithika Dev by a margin of 39,825 votes. Paul got 94,646 votes, while Bithika managed to secure 54,821 votes after the 17 rounds of counting.

“This win is dedicated to the people of Barak Valley. People had faith in development and good governance illustrated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The dynastic politics which hindered the pace of development in Barak Valley and Assam as a whole has been rejected by the esteemed voters desperately waiting for development,” Dilip Paul said after his win.

Asked whether he is weaving dreams to be a minister, Paul said that allotment of ministry depends on the party and he will accept whatever is decided by the party high command. Interestingly, neither the INC candidate Bithika Dev nor anyone from the party was available for any comments after the defeat.

On the other hand, Rajdeep Goala, the lone triumphant Congress candidate from the district said that he will make efforts to highlight the core issues of his constituency and play the role of an effective opposition. Dejected by the loss, former MLA Dr Rumi Nath hinted that she will not be seen in politics saying “there has been visible development in Borkhola, yet I am surprised to see people ignoring the facets. Until people call me back, I shall not return to the political scenario of the constituency”.

While debutant legislator Kishore Nath said that she will have to start from a scratch to usher in development in Borkhola. For Independent candidate Misbahul Islam Laskar who lost to Kishore Nath by a close margin of only 42 votes, the loss is beyond expectation and unacceptable. Expressing his initial reaction, veteran BJP legislator from Dholai Parimal Suklabaidya said that “because of the rampant corruption and bad governance in the past five years, development of Dholai was stagnant”. He thanked the voters of his constituency for placing faith in him and his party. BJP’s lone minority MLA from Barak Valley, Aminul Haq Laskar, said that Sonai has been blessed with the spirit of development. He stressed on the fact that fulfilment of the promises made in the manifesto would be prioritised once the Government is formed.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »