Guwahati, Wednesday, May 18, 2011
HomeMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Pradhan, Rishideep bag chess title

 GUWAHATI, May 17 – Dipu Pradhan of St Peter’s School, Nazira and Rishideep Bordoloi of Delhi Public School, Duliajan won the title in the Pawn and Bishop groups respectively in the PC Borooah Children’s Chess tournament. Dipu Scored 5.5 points from 7 rounds. Simran Ahmed clinched the second position. She also scored 5.5 points but had to content with second position on the basis of tie-break score. Prasurjya Das of Army Public School, Divyanga Spondon Baruah of DPS, Duliajan and Satabdajit S Baruah of Mangaldai Maharishi Vidya Mandir also scored 5.5 points but were declared 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively on the basis of tie-break scores. In Bishop group, Rishideep scored 6.5 points to win the title. Kaustav Kashyap Das of Srimanta Shankar Academy scored 5.5 points and clinched the second position. Mahasweta Kumar, Chiranjeet Boro and Debanga Kaushik Bhattacharrya also scored 5.5 and were declared 3rd, 4th, and 5th on the basis of their tie-break score. The Best Players title of PC Borooah Chess Academy was bagged by Amlan Mahanta, Ritwick Sinha and Priyambada Datta, stated a press release.

The prize distribution ceremony was presided over by Lakhimi Borooah, president, PC Borooah Chess Academy. Director of Sports and Youth Welfare Sanjib Gohain Baruah was the chief guest and veteran chess player Sudhir Nath, former president of All Assam Chess Association was the guest of honour in the ceremony.

City »
State »
  • AJYCP condemns attack on mediapersons
  • Customers feel the heat!
  • AALA concern over hike in petrol price
  • US doctor visits North Lakhimpur
  • BPPF, Cong candidates allege EVM tampering
  • AGP routed in its birth place Golaghat dist
  • Other Headlines »
    Sports »
  • KSU submits memo on school fee hike
  • Mizoram may turn wet again
  • Shillong Buddha Mandir completes 76 years
  • Pradhan, Rishideep bag chess title
  • Fancied Bengal make flying start in Santosh Trophy
  • Manipur edge past Tamil Nadu 2-1

    Download Advertisement Rate Card