Guwahati, Friday, March 29, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
6 in fray for Mizoram LS seat

 AIZAWL, March 28 - Six candidates are in the fray for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram on Thursday, Election department officials said.

 Election to the Mizoram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 11 simultaneously with the by-poll to the Aizawl West-I Assembly constituency.

With no withdrawal of nomination on Thursday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature, six candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat and three for the Assembly constituency, the officials said.

The six candidate in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat are C Lalrosanga of the ruling MNF, Lalnghinglova Hmar, an Independent supported by the Opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and the Congress, Nirupam Chakma of the BJP, TBC Lalvenchhunga of People’s Right to Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) and two Independents – Lal Hriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani.

In all, 7,84,405 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the State on April 11 in 1,175 polling stations to elect the lone Lok Sabha MP of the State. Fifteen special polling stations will be set up at the Mizoram-Tripura border Kanhmun village for 12,000 Bru voters lodged in the six relief camps in North Tripura district.

Three candidates in the fray for the by-poll to the Aizawl West- I Assembly seat are Zothantluanga of the ruling MNF, Lalbuanga Sailo, an Independent supported by ZPM and the Congress, and Rev Zaichhawna Hlawndo of the Zoram Thar party. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »