Guwahati, Thursday, March 25, 2010
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BPF releases 38-point election manifesto
 MUSHALPUR, March 24 – BPF, the ruling political party of BTAD released its election manifesto on Monday for the second BTC poll to be held on April 9 next. Hagrama Mohilary, president of BPF released the 38-point election manifesto in the presence of a mammoth crowd of BPF supporters who gathered at Barama in Baksa district for filing of nomination of six BPF candidates from Mushalpur and Salbari subdivision.

The major issues that the manifesto contains are – total implementation of Bodo accord, steps to withdraw the pending cases related to Bodoland movement, to set up an international airport in Bodoland areas, steps for food security to ensure public health , setting up of a Central University, Ayurvedic College, Veterinary College, Agriculture College, Physical Training College and Pharmaceutical School in Bodoland areas, steps for solution of unemployment problem, steps to set up industries in Bodoland areas, setting up of a hundred beded hospital in each subdivisional headquarter, transfer of SSA Mission as well as relief and rehabilitation department to Bodoland, to strengthen and develop the local and traditional garment industry, phase-wise financial assistance to venture schools and gradual steps of provincialisation, and reinstatement of the teachers of Rabha, Garo, Nepali and Saotali languages earlier appointed by the State government.

There are also promises of continuing pressure on the State as well as Central government for according Hills tribe status to the Bodos living in Karbi Anglong, extensive irrigation, use of modern instrument and technology in agriculture, conservation of forest and steps for aforestation in denuded areas, flood and erosion control, rehabilitation of the victims of Bodoland movement, drinking water supply ,total electrification and better health services besides many other welfare steps.

Six BPF candidates of Mushalpur (hqr) and Salbari subdivision in Baksa district filed nominations for BTC poll at Barama camp office of Baksa DC on Monday with a mammoth gathering of supporters of cross section of people and multi-cultural troupes of the two subdivisions.The candidates include Govinda Basumatary for No 20 Mathanguri (open) constituency, Ranjit Kherkatary for No 21 Salbari (ST) constituency, Buddhi Narzary for No 22 Koklabari (ST) constituency, Moon Singh Brahma for No 23 Dihira (open) constituency, Hitesh Basumatary for No 24 Mushalpur (ST) constituency and Banamali Boro for No 25 Baganpara (ST) constituency.

Hagrama Mohilary, President of BPF and BTC Chief, Biswajit Daimary-MP-RS, Chandan Brahma, Minister, Transport, and local MLAs were present on the occasion.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »