Guwahati, Saturday, March 23, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP nominates Gao, Rijiju for LS polls in Arunachal
 ITANAGAR, March 22 - Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday released the second list of six candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections and two nominees for the Lok Sabha polls in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Party has nominated Arunachal Pradesh BJP president Tapir Gao and Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju for the parliamentary elections.

While the BJP chief and former parliamentarian will contest from Arunachal East Parliamentary Constituency, MoS Rijiju will fight the elections from Arunachal West seat.

According to the list, Assembly Speaker Tenzing Norbu Thongdok will vie for re-election from Kalaktang Assembly Constituency in West Kameng district, while sitting Minister Bamang Felix will contest the polls from Nyapin constituency in Kurung Kumey district.

Senior BJP leader and former legislator Kipa Babu has been nominated for the prestigious Itanagar seat in place of incumbent MLA Techi Kaso.

Another surprise was the pick of first-timer Tana Hali Tara replacing senior Minister Nabam Rebia for the Doimukh Assembly seat.

The two other candidates are technocrat-turned-politician Anong Perme and Thaji Gichak Kiogi for the Mariyang-Geku and Tali Assembly constituencies respectively.

The ruling party had earlier on Sunday announced the first list of 54 candidates for the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly.

The State goes to polls on April 11 simultaneously for the 60-member Assembly and for two Parliamentary seats.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »