Guwahati, Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Prabin Hazarika withdraws nomination
 BISWANATH CHARIALI, March 22 - With the withdrawal of nominations by three candidates at Biswanath LAC on the last day on Monday, three, four and five candidates remain in the fray in 76-Biswanath, 77-Behali and 78-Gohpur LACs, respectively, in Biswanath district for the ensuing assembly election scheduled to be held on April 4.

They include Noorjamal Sarker (Congress), Pramod Borthakur (BJP) and Gopichand Sahabadi (JDU) in Biswanath, Ranjit Dutta (BJP), Rupak Sharma (Congress), Bibek Das and Julfiker Hussein (Independent) in Behali, Manika Borah (Congress), Utpal Borah (BJP), Halan Purti (CPI-ML), Sabir Narzari and Deben Saikia (Independent) in Gohpur.

Meanwhile, the sitting AGP MLA of Biswanath LAC, Prabin Hazarika who had filed his nominations protesting his party’s denial to give him the party ticket, withdrew his nomination in support of the BJP candidate on Monday.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »