Guwahati, Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Shillong PC clinch media football crown
Sports Reporter

Players of the Shillong Press Club receiving the winners’ trophy of the Harendra Nath Baruah Memorial Football Tournament at the 10th North East Media Sports Festival from Director of Sports Dharma Kanta Mili in Guwahati, on Monday.
 GUWAHATI, March 18 - Former champions Shillong Press Club regained the Harendra Nath Baruah Trophy by emerging champions in the Topcem 10th North East Media Sports Festival organised by the Assam Sports Journalists Association.

In the final played at the Nehru Stadium here today, the Shillong scribes trounced Chaygaon Press Club by a clear margin of 2-0 goals.

In the closing function, Director of Sports Dharma Kanta Mili, senior Topcem official Dr Anil Kapur, former DIPR Rajib Prakash Baruah, SAI Regional Centre Director Dr Subhash Basumatary, international footballer Debashis Ray, sports organisers Balendra Mohan Chakravorty, Taher Ahmed and Shillong Press Club president David Laitphlang were present during the occasion and gave away the prizes.

Trophies were presented for the disciplines of Arobindo Buragohain Memorial Badminton Meet (team champion The Telegraph, runners-up The Assam Tribune, individual champions Narayan Kachari, runner-up Sivasish Thakur), women (individual champion Rimple Rajkumari, runner-up L Aruna Chanu); Badaruddin Ahmed TT Meet (team champion The Assam Tribune, runners-up Prasar Bharati, individual champion Debajit Dutta, runner-up Mehdi Hussain), women (individual champion L Aruna Chanu, runners-up Anupama Gogoi Daulagapu); Chess (champion Saroj Medhi, runner-up Debashis Sinha, third Imtiaz Ahmed).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »