Guwahati, Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
15 polling stations to be set up for Brus in Mizoram border
Newmai News
 AIZAWL, March 18 - Amid stiff opposition from civil society groups, the Election Commission of India (ECI) would set up 15 polling stations for Bru voters, lodged in six relief camps in North Tripura district, at Kanhmun village along the Mizoram-Tripura border.

Speaking to reporters at a press conference here on Monday, Mizoram Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Ashis Kundra said he received information from the EC on Saturday regarding the arrangement of special polling stations for Bru voters at Kanhmun village as was done during the Assembly elections last year.

As per the information, 15 polling stations – nine for Mamit district and three each for Kolasib and Lunglei districts, would be set at the Mizoram-Tripura border village, he said. He also said that about 12,000 Bru voters from six relief camps in Tripura are eligible to exercise their franchise in the upcoming polls.

Kundra further said that he is in close contact with Tripura CEO regarding the arrangement of transportation for the Bru voters. He added that he will send a team to Tripura to discuss about the arrangement.

He appealed to the civil society groups to demonstrate the same role it had played in the last Assembly election in strengthening democracy.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »